College of Arts and Social Sciences


The College of Arts and Social Sciences is one of the five pioneer colleges that commenced full academic operations in 1999 when Igbinedion University Okada was established. Like the name suggests, the College comprises of two major fields viz-a-viz Arts which consists of Department of  Literary Arts and Foreign Languages and Department of Theatre Arts and Film Production, while Social Sciences comprises of the  six departments which are :-

  1. Department of Economics
  2. Department of Geography
  3. Department of Mass Communication –
  4. Department of Political Science –
  5. Department of Sociology –
  6. Department of Theatre Arts
  7. Department of International Relations –

The College has over 52 lecturers made up of Professors, Associate Professors and lecturers. Over the last fourteen (14) years, we have trained undergraduates with the knowledge and research skills needed for employment. All the Departments in the College are fully accredited by NUC and apart from the Department of Literary Arts and Foreign Languages and Geography, every other department runs Postgraduate courses  from PGD to PhD.

Once again, welcome to College of Arts and Social Sciences.

Dr Oligbi Blessing